Are You Sending Your Emails at the Best Times?

Categories: Business News


An analysis from software provider GetResponse of 21 million emails sent by its clients offers some interesting findings:

  • Nearly one quarter of all emails were opened within the first hour. That dropped to less than 5% by the fourth hour
  • More than 38% of emails were sent between 6 a.m. and noon. That was followed by 29.7% between 6 p.m. and midnight, 25.8% between noon and 6 p.m., and 5.9% between midnight and 6 a.m.
  • The hours in which most e-mails were opened were 8 a.m., 9 a.m., 3 p.m. and 4 p.m.
  • Click-throughs followed a similar pattern with 8 p.m. replacing 4 p.m. as a high-frequency period

And a final caution. If your message is going national or global, keep time differences in mind. A 9 a.m. Eastern time send is 3 a.m. in Hawaii, 5 p.m. in Moscow and 11 p.m. in Sydney.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>